Connect with Point of View   to get exclusive commentary and updates

Conservative Panel Says Trump Is Not a Conservative

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

National Review Urges ‘Say No’ to Trump

Donald Trump is “a menace to conservatism” who should not be elected president of the United States, 22 conservative leaders argue in the new issue of National Review.

Essays by the conservative thinkers were posted online Thursday night and will be included in the conservative journal’s Feb. 15 print edition, which goes to press Jan. 27.

The magazine also includes an editorial, titled “Against Trump,” that concludes: “Donald Trump is a menace to American conservatism who would take the work of generations and trample it underfoot in behalf of a populism as heedless and crude as The Donald himself.”

The leaders who contributed essays represent “various institutions, traditions, and positions on the conservative spectrum,” said Rich Lowry, the magazine’s editor.
“This issue of National Review will bring together voices from across the right to warn against the siren song of Donald Trump,” he added.

“These contributors have many differences of opinion among themselves, but all agree that Trump is not a conservative, he is a mistake for the Republican Party, and he is the wrong man to pick up the pieces after the wreckage of the Obama years.”

The conservative contributors essays are:

  • Thomas Sowell, economist.
  • Brent Bozell, president of the Media Research Center.
  • Glenn Beck, founder of The Blaze.
  • Edwin Meese and Michael Mukasey, former U.S. attorney generals.
  • Dana Loesch and Michael Medved, syndicated radio hosts.
  • Cal Thomas and Mona Charen, syndicated columnists.
  • William Kristol, editor of The Weekly Standard.
  • R. R. Reno, editor of First Things.
  • John Podhoretz, editor of Commentary.
  • Yuval Levin, editor of National Affairs.
  • Mark Helprin, novelist.
  • Andrew C. McCarthy, contributing editor, National Review.
  • Erick Erickson, founder of The Resurgent.
  • David McIntosh, president of the Club for Growth.
  • Steven F. Hayward, author and presidential scholar.
  • Ben Domenech, publisher of The Federalist.
  • David Boaz, executive vice president of the Cato Institute.
  • Katie Pavlich, editor of Townhall.com editor.
  • Russell Moore, president of the Ethics and Religious Liberty Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention.


    Source: Todd Beamon, http://www.newsmax.com